Talking About Grace…

I have been binge-watching this TV show – The Americans for a while now. I like it. You might like it too. I used to dislike streaming movies/tv shows online for two major reasons – buffering, and those irksome ads that are hidden all over the website.

Early this year, I found a website that wasn’t completely ridden with ads and hidden links, so I got over my distaste for online streaming and have since been streaming all the movies/tv shows I watch from that site, as opposed to downloading them first.

But such good things don’t last forever. About a week ago ((((week agoooo)))), I noticed that this site had become riddled with those annoying little buggers. Also, I moved to a new place and my internet connection in my new home was noticeably slower than what I had previously. So streaming my tv shows became stressful again, right in the middle of the second season of The Americans. Ugh.

Last night, I was going through the apps on my iPhone, deleting the ones I felt I no longer needed, when I found my Amazon Instant Video app. I had completely forgotten I had it. Now, as a member of Amazon Prime, in addition to this very awesome thing called 2-day shipping, you get free instant access to tons of music, e-books, HD movies, TV shows etc.

I opened the app and the first thing I saw was a huge banner of The Americans on the home screen and was like wheeeetttt?! I have been suffering all this while, fighting with ads, low quality video and horrible streaming, and this app has been here, all this while, offering me every single thing I ever wanted on a platter, fully paid for and just waiting for me to consume it. (Because it is a native iPhone app, specifically built for streaming movies et al, even in the face of poor internet connection, it performs a thousand times better than whatever a browser can deliver under the same circumstances.) Kai. I was sad at the thought of all the struggle I had been through.

Then I started thinking about how we struggle through life’s ups and downs, trying so hard to solve a problem that has already been solved in the best way possible, exhausting ourselves, and burning out eventually.

And I decided to write this piece.

 

Etana.

6 thoughts on “Talking About Grace…

  1. Errm Ada…. You might want to add a spoiler about The Americans vis a vis what you like or dont like about the show and then re-title this article “My ‘The American’ Story”. Rolling my eyes. The post is too short sef. Kai Ada after how many weeks?

    • LMAO! Charles! I hate long reads. (Yes, I know “hate” is a strong word, but that’s how strongly I feel about having to read long articles, LOL). So I tend to keep the things I write short and sweet. 🙂
      How are you, my friend?

  2. I’m okay. Hanging in there and trying not to Lose Faith. Fighting a lot of Scattered thoughts but Learning everyday to Live, Love and not Dance.

    PS: I couldn’t resist the temptation to do that. Hehehe

    Meanwhile, you should know that my attraction to your pieces is correlated to the depth with which it reveals the way your mind works. When the articles are too short it feels like I’ve lost a connection almost as soon as it started. Kapisce!

    Oya gaan start writing anada one joor.

    • Lmaoooo… You know, I was going to update this post. I later realized why all the ads started assaulting me. I had reset my chrome. So Adblock and all other extensions got disabled. 😂😂😂😂
      But hey, there was still the horrible streaming issue. 💁🏻

Leave a Reply

